About

Profile Pic


On weekdays I study the use of technology in conflict. Nights and weekends I study the brain (decisions & behavior).

I’m using what I learn about decisions and behavior to study bodies (health & fitness) and tribes (cooperation & conflict).

Here’s what I’m working on now:


My Background

My family is Cajun but I spent most of my life as a nomad. I’ve lived in ten states and five countries. I’ve visited many more.

I graduated from the United States Naval Academy in 1992 with a degree in Systems Engineering.

For ten years I alternated between Salvage Diving and Explosive Ordnance Disposal. I dove SCUBA, re-breathers and surface-supplied diving systems. I jumped out of airplanes and blew stuff up. I travelled through Europe and the Middle East before focusing on the Pacific and Asia. The first half of my career was all about small teams using physics to solve complex problems.

The second half of my time in the Navy was spent on Senior Military Staffs as a Mental Sherpa doing grunt work with my head so smart people could make tough decisions and tough people could do amazing things. I enjoyed the challenges and the chance to support decision making at the highest levels of our government.

The military was an amazing opportunity and I was fortunate to have had the chance to serve.  I worked alongside some amazing people.  I learned about how the world works, I learned how people can change the world. I learned people working well together can solve unbelievably complex problems.

Now I have an amazing job studying the use of technology in conflict.  I’m married to a wonderful woman and have two incredible kids. Being a dad is the toughest but most rewarding job I’ve ever had.  My kids are teaching me much more than I’m teaching them.